Our mission

The Far Eastern leopard is the rarest big cat in the world, with only about 80 remaining in the wild. But the subspecies was teetering on the brink of extinction in the late 20th century, when there were only 30-35 leopards left.

In 2011, protective measures began to be implemented, and the situation improved. The independent non-profit organisation Far Eastern Leopards was established in order to study, preserve and restore the leopard population in Russia. In 2012, the Government passed a resolution establishing Land of the Leopard National Park in the Primorye Territory. In 2013, the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation was amended to introduce criminal penalties for poaching, keeping, transporting and selling extremely rare wild animals, Far Eastern leopards included. The first conviction has been handed down for possession and sale of a leopard skin.

These efforts have already produced results. The leopard population has started to grow, and its geographical distribution has expanded, spreading from Russia into China. We have managed to stop the extermination of the rarest wild cat in the world, but the population must reach at least 150 before the Far Eastern leopard can be considered safe.

We work closely with Land of the Leopard National Park and the Kedrovaya Pad Nature Reserve where most Far Eastern leopards live. We help combat the main threats to the leopard's survival, including poaching and forest fires. Our organisation also sponsors projects to maintain populations of animals that constitute the main source of food for the leopard.

Apart from protecting the predator and its habitat, we sponsor research projects at Land of the Leopard National Park. Various types of monitoring are performed to measure the population of this highly secretive animal and the efficiency of protection measures.

We believe that to know the Far Eastern leopard is to love it, and we are doing everything possible to introduce this rare animal to more people. We hold news conferences, roundtable discussions, exhibitions and other media events, and produce popular science documentaries. 

Friends, together we can save this unique predator!

Наша миссия

Дальневосточный леопард — самая редкая крупная кошка в мире. В дикой природе их насчитывается всего около 80. А ещё в конце ХХ века этот хищник находился на грани вымирания: по оценке учёных, оставалось лишь 30-35 особей.

Ситуацию удалось переломить, когда в 2011 году леопард был взят под защиту: с целью изучения, сохранения и восстановления популяции в России создана автономная некоммерческая организация «Дальневосточные леопарды». В 2012 году постановлением Правительства Российской Федерации в Приморье образован национальный парк «Земля леопарда». А в 2013 году было внесено изменение в Уголовный кодекс Российской Федерации, предусматривающее уголовное наказание за незаконную добычу, содержание, перевозку и продажу особо ценных диких животных, в том числе дальневосточного леопарда. Уже вынесен первый обвинительный приговор по факту хранения и сбыта шкуры самой редкой крупной кошки мира.

Самые первые итоги работы в рамках проекта внушают оптимизм — численность леопарда начала расти. Площадь его ареала расширяется, выходя за территорию России — в Китай. Нам удалось остановить уничтожение редчайшей кошки на планете, но для безопасности популяции её численность должна составлять не менее 150 особей.

Мы активно сотрудничаем с национальным парком «Земля леопарда» и заповедником «Кедровая Падь», на территориях которых обитает основная часть популяции дальневосточного леопарда. В частности, мы помогаем в борьбе с основными факторами, угрожающими этой редкой кошке, — браконьерством и лесными пожарами. Также под эгидой нашей организации проводятся мероприятия, направленные на поддержание кормовой базы дальневосточного леопарда — диких копытных.

Помимо защиты хищника и охраны территории его обитания мы поддерживаем научные проекты, реализуемые на «Земле леопарда». Различные виды мониторинга позволяют определить численность этого крайне скрытного зверя, что необходимо для оценки эффективности действий по его сохранению.

Мы верим, что, узнав дальневосточных леопардов поближе, вы обязательно с ними подружитесь, и делаем для этого всё возможное: проводим пресс-конференции, круглые столы, организуем выставки и другие медийные мероприятия, а также участвуем в создании научно-популярных фильмов.

Друзья, мы можем спасти этого уникального хищника. Давайте сделаем это вместе!